Sunday, March 21, 2010
Venice, Italy 3/11/10
Headed out to Venice today at 6 AM. Slept for some of the ride, but read Swiss Family Robinson and watched From Russia With Love for the most part. Upon arrival at the Hotel Universo we took a “Vaporetto” (water bus) to the Piazza San Marco where we walked through the piazza and the Basilica of St. Mark. This city is so beautiful; definitely a better canal city than Amsterdam. Next time I’m here (and I will be) I’ll have to do a canal ride and visit Campo San Barnaba (the church/library from Indiana Jones & the Last Crusade). Really unfortunate that we only have a day here. I wish we had enough time to “get lost” as the guidebooks put it. We also saw the Ponte di Rialto Bridge which was interesting as part of it has shops and is more than just a bridge. At dinner I discovered that a can of Sprite can cost up to 4 €. What a gyp. Later tonight, we also briefly visited the Campo del Ghetto which is supposedly (according to a sign) is the first Jewish ghetto. A couple alleys looked like where Batman’s parents would be shot though. It’s a good thing the various sections of the city are designated with signs as it is fairly easy to lose yourself. The canals and architecture are really sick; the Venetian in Vegas ain’t got nothing on this. Definitely a Pirates of the Caribbean vibe here. Wish I could see where they used to hang people, but next time. Canals look short enough to wade across, albeit the color of the water. Watching Narnia in Italian currently: it still gets the message across, but lacks the power of Liam Neeson.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment